Living in the 3rd Culture

Recently I was reminded by a facebook friend (also a TCK) of a website that I enjoyed.

http://www.denizenmag.com/

Denizen Magazine is written for Third Culture Kids by Third Culture Kids. Those of you who are not TCK’s may wonder what the point of something like this would be.

For most of my life when asked the question “Where are you from?” I usually responded, “Texas.” Never mind that I wasn’t born there, wasn’t currently living there and had only ever lived there for 3 years of my life (when I was a very young child). Never mind that during this time I was living in Singapore where I had spent most of my life.

Such is the reality of a Third Culture Kid. We live where we’re not from. Then we move to where we’re “from” and find that we’re not from there at all.

And lately this reality has been on my mind, because I am a Third Culture Kid who seems to be stuck in the Culture I always claimed but never really belonged to.

The problem with living in America is because people assume I’m from here. The problem with living in Asia is everybody is certain I’m not from there.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my life. I am married to a wonderful man, have wonderful friends, have the honor and privilege of working at a wonderful church, I’m adopting a child (for goodness sake)… I’m incredibly blessed and very content.

But sometimes I wish I wasn’t surrounded by so many white people…

I’m a Third Culture Kid who has now grown up. I’m still learning how to sort all that stuff out. And reading Denizen magazine helps.

The end.

One response

Leave a Reply

